Knowledge base / Abstract Management

Why do authors see an editing lock notice even when 'Allow coauthor to edit' is enabled?

Last updated Jul 20, 2026

Question

An author receives a notice about releasing an editing lock when trying to edit an abstract, even though the 'Allow coauthor to edit' option is enabled in Dryfta. Is this notice necessary, and why is there an editing lock if co-authors are allowed to edit?

Answer

In Dryfta, the 'Allow coauthor to edit' option enables co-authors to edit a submission, but only one person can edit at a time to prevent conflicts and overwriting of changes. 

The editing lock serves as a safety measure to ensure that multiple users do not edit the abstract simultaneously. 

When an author is editing, a lock is placed, and other co-authors see a notice prompting them to wait or request that the current editor release the lock. The notice is necessary to inform users when the current editor needs to close the abstract to allow others to edit. 

If no one is actively editing, there is no lock. This behavior helps maintain data integrity during collaborative editing.

Tags: abstract editing, coauthor editing, editing lock, Dryfta settings

Was this article helpful?

Related articles

Still need help?

If this article does not answer your question, send us the details and we will help.

Contact support